Exciting Things That Are Happening!

Today was the last day of school. Because I am a 5th grader, the last day of school is very exciting for me. For one reason, it means that I am leaving my school this year and going on to the middle school, also, I am getting old enough to do bigger things like getting nonprofit status for my blog.

About a month ago, my Aunt Joanie had an idea for my mom and I. She wants to help me start a nonprofit foundation. My mom and I thought that this would be a great idea and so over the summer, I get to research how do start one and what it takes to start one. I think that doing this will help me learn to research a little better, and it will also be fun. I also think that this will help me make even more of a difference for the causes I want to help. Nonprofit status is a good thing to have, I know, if I want to keep raising money for charities.

Another cool thing that happened over the past few months is that I learned that my teacher, MRS. NABOZNY IS GOING TO MIDDLE SCHOOL WITH ALL OF THE 5TH GRADERS!!!! Because of this, Mrs. Nabozny wanted to know how we could get other kids involved with my project next year!  I’m really excited that she is doing this because it will

1. Make this project even better

and

2. Get other kids involved. THANK YOU MRS. NABOZNY, for a great idea and school year.

One other bit of good news is that I won 1st place in the Reflections Program! If you can remember, I started this blog because I wanted to enter the PTA Reflections Program and I didn’t ever think that I could even take place because I was using technology with Language Arts, and it wasn’t even really a category for participation in the contest. I submitted my About page though. I was really surprised and grateful that I won this award too.

It’s going to be a really fun and busy summer and tomorrow is my first day of it!

4 Responses

  1. Laura,

    I am excited as well. I look forward to reading about how your efforts impact the future. Your blog is one that I look forward to reading every time you submit a new post. Congratulations on the award and the new foundation. Have a terrific summer!

  2. Way to go on everything, Laura. Sorry I missed out on helping out with the bake sale, but for some reason I thought it was in July, not June. But I’m sure you did really well. Congrats on going to Middle School and winning your award and starting a foundation. All awesome things separately and put together they are even better!

  3. Laura –

    Congrats on your award!!! 🙂

    I’m sure you will stay very busy researching starting a non-profit. I wanted to send the link to a site that may be of help for you. They are called the National Heritage Foundation. You can start a “project” under their non-profit status, which affords you the ability to accept tax deductible donations. They act as what is known as a “fiscal” sponsor & take care of all the paperwork, tax filing, etc. It’s a good way to get your feet wet in non-profit without the high expense & all of the legal/paperwork requirements of a stand alone non-profit. You might want to check our their site with your mom & aunt and see if it might work for you guys!
    http://www.nhf.org – then look under Congressional District Programs.

    Happy researching! 🙂

    ~ Kim A. (www.kindnessevolution.com)

    PS – I hope you got the gift I sent last month! 🙂

  4. Laura, Happy Summer and congratulations on your award! It’s always such a joy to stop by and see what you’re up to. Best wishes always, Karen in Denver

Leave a Reply

