Bake Sales and Lemonade Sales and Badges! Oh My!

A few days ago, Mr. Morris from Wetpaint asked me to think about helping the China Earthquake Relief Fund. This will help rebuild schools in China that were destroyed in the earthquake. The people working for the China Earthquake Relief Fund want to raise $50,000.00 so they can build safe schools for children in China.

So, this evening, at dinner, my mom dad and I talked about what I could do to raise money for this. I thought about doing a bake sale. My mom thought it might be a good idea to try to start a global bake sale or lemonade sale. On July 14, I will be having a huge bake sale and lemonade sale in my yard. We have a block sale that day, and all of the money I raise at my bake/lemonade sale will go to the China Earthquake Relief Fund. If YOU help out, we could raise even more money to donate together. You can participate as an individual, a family, or a classroom or school even. All you need to do is have a sale on your own and donate the money directly to the China Earthquake Relief Fund. I can’t accept any money from anyone myself, but you can send it right to them!

My dad thought about making badges for everyone who participates. If YOU decide to do a bake or lemonade sale to raise money to donate to the China Earthquake Relief fund in the coming months, you will receive a blog badge from me to put on your blog, if you have one. You will also win a magnetic badge too. And if you want, I will even Skype with classes to thank them. Magnetic badges will be sent in the mail. I am looking forward to making all of these. It’s going to be fun! In the future, I hope to support more global causes and to give away different badges for every cause I choose.

I really hope that some different people from all around the world will participate in this global bake sale for the China Earthquake Relief Fund. I hope YOU take on this challange! And if you aren’t able to bake or sell lemonade you could spread the word about this contest. Please consider blogging about it, using Twitter to write about it, or asking someone you know to take part.

DON’T FORGET TO LET ME KNOW IF YOU PARTICIPATE! I WILL SEND YOUR BADGES THROUGH EMAIL AND THE REGULAR MAIL!

And if anyone else has ideas to encourage people to participate, please blog about them too or let me know and I’ll spread the word!

  

5 Responses

  1. WOW!

    Thank you all for doing this for the cause!

    It is so greatly appreciated!

    -Troy

  2. Hi Laura,
    What a fabulous idea. I’m sure my students are going to be so excited about participating in your global bake sale. I’m going to help spread the word in a flash meeting of Aust/NZ educators this Sunday night. Thanks so much for Skyping into our classroom this week – my students loved the experience.
    Jenny Luca.

  3. I had an idea when I was thinking about how to do my own stand. what if we could make printable business cards? They could have the name of the Chinese Earthquake Relief Fund and their website, plus your website, and people could give them out to people who buy something and are interested in doing more? At least, that’s something I was thinking about.

  4. Hi,

    I just voted for your blog for Bloggers Choice awards.

    Could you return the favor at:
    http://www.bloggerschoiceawards.com/blogs/show/21620

    Thanks,

    SpEdLaw2

  5. Excellent idea! My kids made and sold lemonade about 4 months ago to raise money for Grace of God Orphanage in Malawi, Africa.

Leave a Reply

