Going Global

Over the last few days, many things have been happening! Last week, I presented at the WNY-PLP. I met a lot of teachers and school administrators who are using blogs in classrooms with their students. I also got to see some great things that other schools are doing. I have a lot of pictures from that day, and I even videotaped a post about it, which I plan to put up tomorrow.

This weekend, I heard from Jenny Luca and her class in Australia. I will be skyping them next week and I am really excited. My mom and Ms. Luca were thinking about having her class team up with me and some other classes to support a global cause during their next school term and I think that this is a really cool idea! I will talk with them about this over the next few weeks to learn more. Plus, my Aunt will be in Melbourne over the summer, so I will get to send Ms. Luca’s class some things from America. This is really cool.

Today, I also got an email from Troy Morris who works for Wetpaint. I don’t use wikis yet, but my mom said that Ms. Gray uses Wetpaint wikis a lot. She showed me hers, and it is really cool. Mr. Morris asked me to think about helping out the China Earthquake Relief Fund. This is an excellent cause. It is something that a small group of people started, so it fits right in with the sorts of charities that I like to support. These people are trying to raise money to rebuild schools that were ruined in the earthquake. I will be writing much more about this and doing what I can do support this fund here in Buffalo. Does anyone want to help me? I really need some help, and I could use some ideas about how to organize something here to help them.

Also, I wanted to tell you about something that a group of teachers are doing here this summer. Mr. Meader works with my mom sometimes, and he is a part of Buffalo for Africa. I wish that I was old enough to go to his summer institute, which is at Frontier High School. This is a good example of how we can make a difference for people all over the world. Please think about visiting his site!

8 Responses

  1. I’ll make sure my students see this post Laura. They are going to be at fever pitch excitement level by next Wednesday. There are real possibilities to make a difference with the connections we are making. Thank you so much for being the impetus for what I’m sure will benefit the greater good.
    Jenny Luca.

  2. Laura (and Angela),

    Thank you for mentioning this great cause. As this is the world wide web, those from any corner of the U.S. are welcome to join in and help.

    It’s a wiki, so any member can join the site and contribute! So don’t be shy! They’ve figured out their charity and are working on making sure it’s the best use of funds.

    They’re welcoming any and all suggestions, too!

    Thanks again! I look forward to hearing about your WNY-PLP presentation!

    -Troy

  3. Hello! I would love to help you guys with the China Earthquake Relief Fund, if I can. I can bake things for a bake sale, promote on twitter, gather more bottles from friends’ houses, or anything. We’ll have to come up with some ideas. I checked out the site for a few minutes, i’ll have too look at it more tomorrow!

  4. Hey Laura! i’m Claire and i’m from Mrs. Luca’s Class! i am sooo exited about skyping next week

  5. Hey Laura!
    Your mom is right – I do enjoy using WetPaint wikis and would be happy to help you if you have any questions.

    You were very inspiring at WNY-PLP and I’d love to help you going global with the China Earthquake Relief Fund. Maybe we can think about a book sale or something similar – lots of teachers cleaning out classrooms and we can promote reading along the way!

  6. I just started reading your blog. I love what you are doing. I volunteer with Operation Christmas Child, all year round:-)

  7. @Kelly G

    Have you gotten ahold of Berlin Fang, the site coordinator, yet?

    If not, I’m more than willing to help.

    As of yesterday, the fund has raised more than $3,000!

  8. Hi Laura,
    I am very thankful for your willingness to help. I think Global Baked Sale is going to be a very good idea. I think you are more creative than myself. I have run out of ideas myself. I am very happy to hear that you are helping us promote this!

    I will follow up on this!

    Berlin

Leave a Reply

