Caught Making a Difference

Today, Mrs. Strong, my gym teacher, showed a lot of trust in my friends and me by telling us that we could use heart rate monitors whenever we are in the gym. I really like using the heart rate monitors, and they are really ixpensive. You have to wear a watch that tells you how many minutes you have been working and how fast your heart is going. One watch by itself costs around $250.00, and she said that if it falls on concrete it will break. I know we are lucky to be able to use them.

Mrs.Strong is a very pretty gym teacher who also coaches a volleyball team. She cares a lot about us and the sports we play. Also, she really trusts my friends and me. Trust means a lot to me. I think that it’s great that she trusts my classmates and me.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

An Update on Supporting my Cause of the Month: Ski4E!

Yesterday, I got an email message from Ethan Glaser’s grandmother. She told me some great things about Ethan! He sounds like an inspiring boy.

As I mentioned yesterday, Ethan needed to have a liver transplant when he was little! That sounds really kind of scary, but it hasn’t slowed him down at all. Ethan likes to ski and ice skate, and his grandma says that he has a really great sense of humor! Ethan calls his grandma “granny”, and I like that. My friends Sam and Kate call their grandma “granny” too. It’s a pretty name.

Today, I have begun collecting change so that I can make a donation to Ski4E at the end of this month! I also plan to return bottles and go on another penny hunt this month too. And don’t forget to PLEASE GIVE ME YOUR DASH’S CASH REGISTER RECEIPTS! These can really help the Children’s Organ Transplant Association.

I really want to say a big THANK YOU to my teacher, Mrs. Nabozny, at Lindbergh Elementary School! She gives me time to talk about my project in class, and she lets me encourage my classmates to participate. My classmates are great!

Please remember to support Ski4E and the Children’s Organ Transplant Association this month! Let me know what you do to make a difference, and you could win a prize from me at the end of this month and the opportunity to be named as a donor at the end of the month, along with me!

change.jpg

I’ve started saving for Ski4E! You can donate here! Let me know if you do!

2 Responses

  1. Hi Laura!

    Wow, you’re off to an exciting start. Ski4E and COTA are great causes to support. I will make a donation and let you know when I do.

    Mrs. Strong sounds like a nice person. I’m sure you were very careful with the heart rate monitors; it’s a great feeling to be trusted like that, isn’t it?

    I also wanted to tell you that I have a new blog that I set up just for your 2008 challenges! It is 100% dedicated to this, so I think it’s safe for you to link to it.

    You and your mom can see it at http://www.cocomakesadifference.wordpress.com

    Have a great weekend!

  2. I am very excited to help you raise money for Piper and Ski4E. I have a Dash’s receipt to give to your mom and also some change to give to you. Maybe Maddie and I will come over this weekend to give it to you.

    Great work! Keep on making a difference. You are building awareness for organizations that many haven’t heard of before and I think it is great!

Leave a Reply

