How I Made a Difference on December 1, 2007

shovel.jpg

How I made a diffrence on 12/1/07

 

Today I made a difference by shoveling my neighbor’s sidewalk and our sidewalk.Then I put salt down so they nobody will slip.

 

It makes me feel special and good inside to help others. I wanted this to be a surprise so I won’t get credit for doing a job. I didn’t want credit because it gives me enough pleasure to know I did somthing to help.

 

 

It feels better to give presents than to recieve them!!!!

 

PLEASE CHECK OUT MY “ABOUT THIS PROJECT PAGE” ABOVE TO SEE HOW YOU CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE AND WIN MONEY FOR YOUR FAVORITE CHARITY! THE MORE KIDS INVOLVED, THE BETTER THIS WILL BE!!!!!!!!!!

20 Responses

  1. Nice work. Loved your idea. That looks like Chicago. Is it? I use to live there and the houses look very much like it?

  2. What a wonderful project! With your permission (and your mother’s), I would like to link this on my blog. Lots of women with children read my site and maybe they will be able to encourage their kids to do something similar.

    Choc dee ka (Good luck to you)

    ~Chani
    http://thailandgal.blogspot.com

  3. This may be completely out of line and if so, I won’t be offended if you don’t publish this comment but…

    Willie Crawford has a talk radio show and I am certain he would enjoy having your daughter or you on to discuss this project. It could offer some great exposure to other kids who’s parents are making a living from the internet.

    Here is a quick excerpt,

    I’m calling it the “Tell Us About Your PET Project Week!”

    This coming week, I plan on doing (and recording) a radio
    show every day, where a select number of guest will
    get to call in and tell us all about your projects. Each
    guest will be restricted to ONE project, and you’ll
    have 15 minutes.

    The discussion will be coordinated in advance. That is:

    1) Guests will know in advance what questions I plan
    on asking.

    2) Guests will have provided me with a bio in advance

    3) Guests will provide me in advance with a summary
    of your project.

    Guests need to be interesting… and be able to explain
    your project in a way that makes others want to get
    involved. Our listeners will be asking themselves, “Why
    do I care?” and “How is this going to benefit ME?”

    Guests need to answer those questions when volunteering
    to be featured on a show.

    You can schedule the time through his helpdesk at http://WillieCrawford.com/helpdesk/

    Good luck and what a great idea!

  4. What a great idea!

  5. Laura, I heard about your project through a friend,
    Willie Crawford.

    You are a real inspiration, and I hope many more
    people around the world get to hear about your
    project and participate.

    Thank you for what you are doing, I wish you all
    power and strength in changing the world.

    Please let me know if I can help you in any way.
    I look forward to hearing from you soon. 🙂

    All success
    Dr.Mani

    = = = =

    Dr.Mani Sivasubramanian
    Pediatric Cardiac Surgeon

    Chairman
    The Dr.Mani Children Heart Foundation
    http://www.CHDinfo.com

  6. Awesome idea! My three kids are signing on to participate! They are Hunter, Drew, and Duncan, and we live in a mountain valley almost 2000 miles away from you. We have often done “12 Days of Christmas” projects where we singled-out a neighbor and delivered treats to their house every day for 12 days. This year we’re moving right after Christmas so we hadn’t planned to do that, but this looks like something we can and should do even while we’re crazily working-away at our own projects.
    I (their mom) will even post something up on my blog every day and link here, as well as commenting to tell you what we’ve done.
    Thanks for offering this as a project that others can participate in too. What fun!

  7. Three cheers for what you are doing. I’m glad you are chronicling your deeds here, as it will motivate others to follow suit. A very Merry Christmas to you.

    BTW, by strange coincidence I happen to know Willie Crawford (even though you all live on the other side of the world from me). He is a very nice fellow.

  8. Oops, sorry for the blogspam. That didn’t work. Let’s try it again.

  9. You are a very special girl and hopefully your parents know that already. The world would be better if more people like you existed.

    Please do not allow time to change you.

    John

  10. Hello,
    I heard about your project from Dr. Mani, and wanted to thank you for what you are doing.

    It’s been quite a long time since I was a kid in Detroit, MIchigan shoveling snow just like you were doing today. Now that I’m older, and not so steady on my feet, I appreciate what a great service you did for your neighbors and other older people like me.

    I posted a link to your website on one of my lenses at Squidoo.com, and made another post at Del.icio.us. Maybe those will help to bring your project some more well-deserved attention.

    Keep up your good work!

    John R. Cumbow
    http://www.FledglingStudio.com

  11. I just got to thinking of how Branden made a difference today… and he did plant an herb garden. (Chives, Parsley and Basil) in a little planter that he created at Home Depot today.

    One thing he DID do last week however, is save a stray cat’s life. This poor thing was laying on our couch on the front porch, and my son BEGGED me to bring her in. Here are a couple pictures:


    That one is where he was feeding her out on the porch.



    Those are “getting acquainted” and her pretty much making herself lovable enough to get Branden to “bring her in.” 🙂


    Well, she made it in. Right into his BED!

    That poor thing would have died. She was very thin, 4.5 pounds, about a year old, had worms, ear mites, and was a bit dehydrated when we took her to the vet the day before Thanksgiving. This week she is doing MUCH better, her belly is full, he cleans the litter box everyday – and she is turning out to be a great cat. She’s a Manx, which means she has no tail! She looks very funny when she runs.

    So count that as Branden’s first good deed! (Even if it was a bit early than Dec. 1st. He does a LOT of good deeds – so this should be a lot of fun for him.

    Thanks!
    Michelle

  12. Hi Laura,
    You are inspiring not only other kids, but adults as well. Your acts of kindness will be making a bigger difference in the world than you realize. I am writing a post on my blog to let others know about your project. You are doing something very special in memory of your grandpa. I look forward to reading about your activities (and those of other kids who participate) every day.
    Thanks,
    Roger

  13. This is a FANTASTIC project! I’d like to link to it from my blog!

  14. What a terrific idea, Laura. I’m going to show this to my two boys as soon as I can.

  15. Laura, what a fantastic idea you have here! I’m very excited to follow your project through the next few weeks and have added your blog to my feeds. I’ve just signed on to do an images-only (rather than written posts) project for the month of December, but you’ve inspired me to do your project, too. So I guess that means showing how I’ve made a difference through photos. Thank you–you’ve given me lots of think about. I was wondering if someone in your family would know how to make a badge for your project. It might be nice to share it with people who want to join your project so they could add it to their blogs and help spread the word about what you’re doing. Just a thought…

  16. This is a worthy and neat project. I offer my congratulations and blessings!

  17. Hello Laura,

    Branden is totally all in for this project. 🙂 Today we went to “grandpa Brouse’s house, where we helped him put his pool cover on. Branden’s dad helped put Christmas lights outside on the front yard pine tree. Then we cooked dinner for the family. We also played a couple games of ‘go fish’!

    Branden also helped me pick up the toys in the living room today.

    Let’s see what he can think of to do tomorrow!
    Thanks,
    Michelle and Branden

  18. […] of dollars to make a difference. You can donate $1 in the grocery store checkout line. Like Laura, you can give of your time and energy. Bring a freeze-and-heat meal to a new mom. Offer to run errands for an elderly neighbor. Bake […]

  19. Laura,

    I think this is a good idea and there should be more people out there who take the time like you did. I think it means a lot when a 10-year-old has a heart big enough for the whole world to share.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

